Areas A, B and C

Under the Oslo II Agreement, the West Bank was divided into three different zones Area A, in which the Palestinian Authority has ‘full autonomy’; Area B, in which the Palestinian Authority has responsibility for civil affairs, but Israel retains security control; and Area C (60% of the West Bank), in which Israel has full civil and security control.

The layout of these Areas has made it challenging for Palestinian water institutions to develop infrastructure that avoids Area C altogether. Often when these networks require construction in Area C, they are subject to lengthy, complex permit procedures with the Civil Administration



Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: